Fuji’s EVF and OVF 

Coming from the DSLR world most of us are used to using a OVF (optical viewfinder). Even back in the day of film cameras OVF is what we knew. With the ever growing mirrorless camera market, there is a new way to see what we are shooting. The EVF (electronic viewfinder) has changed the way we shoot today. 


I must admit at first it was weird to shoot with a EVF on my Fujifilm X-e1. Shooting action with a EVF was a challenge at first compared to using an OVF. There was a lag between frames with the EVF. Not like the OVF used on a DSLR which you can track with your subject without the lag. Yes the first generation of mirrorless cameras were not real good for shooting fast moving subjects (sports). 

Now let’s move to today. Fujifilm as been able to give us the best of both worlds. Their Xpro-2 and X100t, and X100f cameras have both EVF and OVF options. The EVF on these cameras is stellar. I shoot Motorsports for the most part with my XPro-2 and XT-1 by Fuji. On my XT-1 the EVF is huge and bright. I love looking into that beast. The lag time is not a issue. I don’t shoot much burst mode but when I do it does pretty good at keeping up with what I’m focused on. 


Now let’s talk about the XPro-2 and X100t. Using the EVF on my XPro-2 is amazing. It’s works great while shooting single frames, or 8fps. My opinion is that all cameras should have a EVF like the latest Fujifilm cameras. When I use the OVF it is because I need to see what is coming into my frame or what is around my frame that I am focused on. This works great when covering a event were people are walking in and out of my view. So when I’m framing my shot with the OVF I can see what is going on outside my frame lines. This way I can wait a second before I shoot or get the shot off before somebody walks into my frame. 


Ok now the thing that I love the most about using the EVF is that I can see my exposer in real time. I can make adjustments, and see how my image will look when I push the shutter. After I take the shot I see the image right away in the veiwfinder. There is no chimping any more with these cameras. All of the information that I want to know about the shot that I’m taking is right there in the EVF. This takes the quess work out of my settings. I have found this really helpful in situations where the lighting is changing all of the time. It just speeds up my shooting over all. 

Here is a cool thing with these cameras that I find very helpful as well. When I am using the OVF I can also have a small EVF down in the corner to look at for focusing, and exposure. Now I can keep track of what’s going on outside my viewfinder, and see what my image is going to look like instantly at the same time. I must admit I do not use the OVF as much as I do the EVF, but when I do it works perfect for my situation. 

Anybody out there that thinks using a EVF is not how a camera should work is missing out on a very useful tool that is going to be the future in cameras of all kinds. With the ultra fast frame rates and a real time view of your image there is no reason not to use a EVF for all kinds of photography. 

Let me know what you guys like or don’t like about either of these viewfinders. Not only Fujifilm Cameras, but other system that’s use EVF’s.  John Zachary Photography

Thank you for stopping by

Just Shoot

John

One thought on “Fuji’s EVF and OVF 

  1. I use both the X-Pro2 and the X-T2. I started out with film cameras that had through the lens viewfinders. While I admit I am enamored with the OVF on the X-Pro2 the obvious problem is having medium to large lenses intrude into the OVF. However, if you can learn to ignore he protrusion of he lens I find the OVF very nice if I concentrate on the bright line framing. Kind of refreshing in fact! That said the real time exposure view of the EVF is invaluable in most situations. I’ve learned not to reference the LCD when using that mode on the cameras. I do find the pop up EVF on the X-Pro2 in OVF mode too small for these old eyes. Thanks for the article!

Leave a Reply

